Wedding In El Paso .com is El Paso's Best Wedding Planning Website!
View wedding vendors in such categories as Bridal Gowns & Bridal Party Dresses, Wedding Photographers,
Cakes & Desserts, and Wedding Videographers and more. We also include a complete Wedding Planning Guide for the El Paso Bride to be.
Register with us to receive great specials and discounts exclusive to the Wedding In El Paso .com registered bride.
Shop for wedding favors and wedding invitations. Sign up for your Bridal Gift Registry.

Marriage License – El Paso County Texas

MissNowMrs.com The Premier Online Name-Change Service for Brides

The following information was provided by the El Paso County Clerks office on their official web site.

Marriage License

  • Both applicants must be present (exception below)*
  • – Submit proof of identity and age
  • 1. Certified copy of a birth certificate
  • 2. or some license, certificate or document issued by Texas or another state, the U.S. or a foreign government Drivers license, military ID, passport or baptismal Both parties must be 18 years or older 14-17 requires parental consent.
  • – Both parties must provide their social security number or state they have none.
  • – Both parties must provide all information as required on the application and as requested by the clerk
  • – Both parties must take the oath printed on the application and sign the application in the presence of the clerk
  • * If one applicant is unable to appear personally before the clerk, any adult person or the other applicant may apply on behalf of the absent applicant. The person applying on behalf of an absent applicant shall provide the clerk a properly executed absent affidavit. If both persons are active duty military or confined to a correctional facility as defined by section 1.07 of the penal code both applicants may file an absent affidavit.
  • – The cost of the license is $72.00, the license must be properly executed within 30 days.
  • – There is a 72-hour waiting period to get married. The 72-hour waiting period may be waived by court order. Active duty military are exempt from the waiting period.
  • – Both applicants will initial the license affirming that all information is correct to include the mailing address.
  • – There is no provision to waive the $72.00 license fee.


  • REQUIREMENTS FOR DECLARATION AND REGISTRATION OF INFORMAL (COMMON-LAW) MARRIAGES
  • – Both parties must be present. no exceptions.
  • – Proof of identity and age must be presented.
  • – Both parties must be 18 or older; a person under 18 applicants, now adults, apply for an informal marriage, but one or both were underage when they became common-law, they can declare their informal marriage based on that date even though underage.
  • – Both parties must supply all information and take the oath as required on the form prescribed by the Bureau of Vital Statistics and provided by the County Clerk.
  • – Each party will sign the declaration in the clerks presence.
  • – The clerk may not issue or record the declaration if either party checks “false” in response to the statement of relationship to the other party.
  • – The cost of the declaration is $37.00 and there is no provision to waive the fee.
  • PROCESSING OF EXECUTED AND RETURNED MARRIAGE LICENSES
  • Marriage licenses can be returned to this office in a number of ways
  • 1. Returned by one or both parties married
  • 2. Returned by the person performing the marriage
  • 3. Mailed to the office by the couple or person performing the marriage
  • – The original license is mailed back to the couple after approximately 4-6 weeks
  • – Note: It is highly recommended the license be hand-carried to be recorded where possible.

MissNowMrs.com The Premier Online Name-Change Service for Brides